Cadair Idris on 2 wheels and 2 feet

What a glorious weekend to spend on Idris’ chair (twice), once on two wheels on Saturday and then again on two feet this time on Sunday.

I was leading a group walking up Cadair Idris on Sunday so I decided to head up on Saturday and try the mtb route to the summit, I was aware of the track which comes up from Tynyfach a tiny hamlet north of Abergynolwyn which joins the Pony Path to summit. I found the route was split into three sections, the first section up to Hafotty Gwastadfryn (well that is what it is called on the OS map) was on steep but easy to negotiate farm tracks. The second section was on grassy and sometimes heavily rutted bridleway until I joined up with the Pony Path then it became proper mountain terrain and plenty of hike a bike occurred. The views as always on a clear day where fantastic from the top. Now time for the descent I had my dog Megan with so it was possibly the slowest descent of Cadair Idris on a bike there has ever been as I needed to keep the speed in check for her. So I would like to go back try it again.

As I mentioned on Sunday I led a group up this time up the Minffordd Path. In June I’m doing the 3 peaks challenge and this was a one of the practice walks. On the way to the car park from Cedris Farm campsite which by the way is a lovely little site I stopped at Tal-y-Llyn to photo the boats and still water.

The Minffordd route is a very popular route and easy to follow, we stopped at Llyn Cau for a while before heading up onto the ridge and then the summit again it was another sunny day so the views were still as fantastic as they were the day before. We then head along the top and down the steep banks of Mynydd Moel to join up with teh path back to the car park.

Leave a Reply

